Pearl Street Passage Teams Announced!

This past March, architects, artists, builders and creative professionals of all types applied to take part in DesignPhiladelphia's 2015 marquee event, Pearl Street Passage. After much deliberation, the curatorial committee and DesignPhiladelphia are happy to announce the teammembers who will help build Philadelphia's next great public space!

The following multidisciplinary teams were assembled based on a unique mix of experience, past works, and creative missions. We also received interest from a few students/young professionals, who have been included as Students/Junior Members.

Drumroll, please...

The teams for the 2015 Pearl Street Passage project will be:

Team 1:

Scout – Urban Design Firm
The Challenge Program – Fabricators
Working Michael – Graphic designer

Team 2:

Ewing Cole – Architectural design firm
PJA Architecture & B Fabrications – Fabricators
J.E. Kim – Choreographer/performer/media artist
Alexandra Schmidt – Interior design student/junior team member

Team 3:

Jonathan Alderson – Landscape architecture firm
Provenance Architecturals – Architectural salvage and fabrication
Jeanne Lombardo – 3D mixed media artist/sculptor
Margaret Williamson – Sustainable urban design student/junior team member

Team 4:

Bohlin Cywinski Jackson – Architectural design firm
StudioRON – Fabricators
Worldtown Sound System – Musicians

Team 5:

Gensler – Architectural design firm
Postgreen Homes & Hybrid Construction – Developer and construction team
Serena Saunders – Visual artist/fashion designer
Richard Vilabrera – Architecture design student/junior team member

Team 6:

Groundswell Design Group – Urban design firm
FK Productions – Fabricators
Peter Slavin, of Fear No Ice – Ice sculpture
James Bonney – Landscape Architecture student/Junior team member

Team 7:

Sikora Wells Appel – Landscape architecture firm
Neuro Native Labs & KRH Design – Fabricators
Carter Smith – Installationist/mechanical engineer/idea refiner

Team 8:

Queer Urbanist Exchange – Urban planners
Shift_Design – Designer/fabricator
Michael Morgan – Brick artist/sculptor

Team 9:

Ennis Nehez – Architecture and interior design firm
Jeffrey Allan Designs – Fabrication
The Lighting Practice – Architectural Lighting designer
Lily Meier – Young Architecture professional/Junior team member

Team 10:

Francis Cauffman – Architecture, planning, interior design firm
Metal Inc. – Fabricators
Alison Stigora – Site specific installation artist/sculptor/public artist

With the eclectic combination of skills and disciplines represented in each team, we can’t wait to see what incredible work they’ll produce! Let us know which team you’re most excited about by tweeting to us at @designphilly or commenting on our Facebook page, #pearlstreetpassage!

What's Pearl Street Passage?

Slated as the marquee event of the 2015 DesignPhiladelphia Festival, Pearl Street Passage will be a temporary, cutting-edge, outdoor exhibition on the 1100 block that will celebrate the creativity and social vibrancy of the Chinatown North/Callowhill district of Philadelphia. The Passage will be open to the public from October 8-11; with complimentary events, such as talks, walking tours, open studios, and exhibitions. More here.

More on DesignPhiladelphia 2015

Fresh off its 10th anniversary celebration, DesignPhiladelphia is back and planning to make an even bigger impact in 2015. This year's Festival will kick off the evening of October 7th with programming running from October 8-16th. To get your creative juices flowing and inspire you in planning experiences that demonstrate the power of design - this year's theme is SHIFT - as in: a shift in perspective, shifting into motion, or a transformation/change. See how you can get involved here.


Share With Your Friends