Edmund N. Bacon Urban Design Awards

Edmund N. Bacon Urban Design Awards



















The Bacon Family 

Bittenbender Construction 


Gilmore & Associates 

Hinge Collective 

Ian Smith Design Group  

JDT International  

Keast & Hood  

Scout LTD  

Scannapieco Development Corporation 

Temple University Tyler School of Art & Architecture 

Thomas Jefferson University, College of Architecture and the Built Environment  

VSBA Architects & Planners



Edmund N. Bacon Urban Design Awards

Presented Annually In February

Support the Edmund N. Bacon Urban Design Awards + Student Design Competition with your donation of any amount

View professional Awardees here

View Student Design Competition winning entries here

Founded in 2006 in memory of Philadelphia’s iconic 20th century city planner, Edmund N. Bacon [1910-2005], this annual program honors both professionals and students whose work epitomize excellence in urban design. Each year, a professional who has made significant contributions to the field of urban planning - through conviction of vision, effective communication, and commitment to improving their community - is selected to receive the Edmund N. Bacon Award. In addition, the winners of an international urban design competition for university students, envisioning a better Philadelphia and taking place the preceding fall, are honored with an Edmund N. Bacon Student Award.

The combined awards ceremony is hosted in Philadelphia each February.

Edmund N. Bacon [1910-2005] is recognized as one of the most significant city planners of the 20th century. As Executive Director of the Philadelphia City Planning Commission from 1949-1970, his design concepts shaped the physical landscape of the post-World-War-II city. Bacon’s work had such national significance that he was featured on the cover of Time magazine in 1964, and brought Philadelphia into the national spotlight as a city that was ambitiously planning for its future.

Learn More About Edmund N. Bacon

This program is organized by the Ed Bacon Memorial Committee.