Louis I. Kahn Award

Kahn's Salk Institute in La Jolla, California | Photo by Rex Boggs
Louis I. Kahn Award

Louis I. Kahn Award

Presented Annually In Spring

Support the Louis I. Kahn Award with your donation of any amount

View Past Awardee Videos

Since 1983, the annual Louis I. Kahn Award has honored the most influential and accomplished architects from around the world. Awardees present a talk in Philadelphia, open to the public, in which they discuss their innovative designs, their inspirations, and their motivations. Designs from the awardees are often featured in a corresponding exhibition at the Center for Architecture and Design in late spring through early summer.

This event celebrates recipients' achievements in memory of Philadelphia architect Louis Kahn [1901-1974], whose monumental designs have influenced generations of architects. Kahn designed such famous structures as the Salk Institute in La Jolla California; the National Assembly Building in Dhaka, Bangladesh; and the Richards Medical Research Laboratories at the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia. He was also a renowned teacher at Yale, the University of Pennsylvania, MIT, and Princeton.

This event is a fantastic way to learn about the design process architects use to shape the world around us and to be inspired by the most influential minds in the field of architecture alive today.

Past Winners

2019 – Diller Scofidio + Renfro

2018 – Sir David Adjaye

2017 – Jeanne Gang

2016 - Bjarke Ingels

2015 - Lord Norman Foster

2014 - Steven Holl, FAIA

2013 - Ted Flato, FAIA

2011 - Bernard Tschumi, FAIA

2010 - Peter Bohlin, FAIA

2009 - Thom Mayne, FAIA

2008 - James Polshek, FAIA 

2007 - Billie Tsien, AIA & Tod Williams, FAIA

2006 - David Chipperfield, RIBA

2005 - Moshe Safdie, FAIA

2004 - Daniel Libeskind, BDA

2003 - Sir Nicholas Grimshaw, RIBA, Hon FAIA

2002 - Robert A. M. Stern, FAIA

2001 - Tadao Ando

1999 - Peter Eisenman, FAIA

1997 - Rafael Vinoly, FAIA

1996 - Rafael Moneo, FAIA

1995 - James Ingo Freed, FAIA

1994 - Cesar Pelli, FAIA

1993 - Joseph Esherick, FAIA

1992 - Christopher Alexander

1991 - Antoine Predock, FAIA

1990 - Fumihiko Maki, Hon FAIA

1989 - Frank O. Gehry, FAIA

1988 - Charles W. Moore, FAIA

1987 - Vincent J. Scully, Jr.

1986 - Robert Venturi, FAIA

1985 - Paul Goldberger

1984 - Dr. Jonas Salk

1983 - Romaldo Giurgola, FAIA

Proceeds from this event support design education for children in Philadelphia, both through the Charter High School for Architecture + Design, the first school of its kind in the nation, founded in 1999 as a legacy project of AIA Philadelphia, and through the Architecture in Education program of the Center for Architecture and Design, which brings practicing architects into public school classrooms to empower children to shape their world through design.

The program is organized by the Louis Kahn Memorial Committee.